Be part of  #seemejoinme, a new social media campaign to celebrate women in the construction industry.

seemejoinme

The RIBA is asking women and men working in the global construction community – from bricklayers and architects to engineers and plumbers – to get involved in #seemejoinme, a collective initiative to “take positive steps to drive out inequality, inspire and celebrate all our talent.”

Add your voice to this global campaign by tweeting a few words about why creating a more equal industry matters, using the hashtag #SeeMeJoinMe. The RIBA also suggests that you include an image of yourself at work. The campaign starts on 2 March and includes a Thunderclap, which allows everyone who signs up to it to simultaneously tweet  at a specified time on  International Women’s Day.

make a stand, take a selfie …. show our young women, parents and teachers that careers in construction are not off-limits to girls

The RIBA provides the following instructions on how to participate:

  1. Tweet a few words about why creating a more equal industry matters along with an image of yourself at work and your job title – don’t forget the hashtag #SeeMeJoinMe
  2. Sign up to our campaign Thunderclap 
  3. Rally your friends and colleagues working in the construction industry around the world to do the same.
  4. On International Women’s Day on 8 March 2015 at 9am, watch as everyone’s messages are simultaneously shared on social media around the world.

Note that 9 am, 8 March GMT corresponds to the following Australian time zones:

5 pm AWST (Perth)
6.30 pm ACST (Darwin)
7 pm  AEST (Queensland)
7.30 pm ACDT (South Australia)
8 pm  AEDT (NSW, Victoria, Tasmania, ACT)